The Cinematheque represents UW-Madison academic departments and student film groups and is dedicated to showcasing the best in international cinema history and fine films which would otherwise never reach Madison screens. As the screening facility of the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research (WCFTR) and a member of the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the Cinematheque regularly showcases archival and other rare prints from around the world. The Cinematheque screens films while the University is in session during the Fall and Spring semesters and for four to five weeks during the summer. The Cinematheque has one of the finest projection facilities in Wisconsin and screens a variety of formats, including DCP (Digitial Cinema Package), 35mm and 16mm (both on reel-to-reel projection systems), and multiple standard and high definition video formats. It is the Cinematheque's policy to screen films only in the best available versions in the correct aspect ratio, and, if silent, at the appropriate speed and with musical accompaniment. Funding has been provided by generous grants from the Anonymous Fund, as well as support from the Chazen Museum of Art. Special thanks to Dean John Karl Scholz, Associate Dean Susan Zaeske, and the College of Letters and Science for their continued support.


All Cinematheque screenings are free and open to the public on a first-come, first-seated basis. Doors open thirty minutes before showtime. In consideration of our audiences, no one will be admitted 15 minutes after the scheduled start time of any program. Donations are accepted at the door or through our website (http://cinema.wisc.edu/donate). Tax-free charitable donations can be made to the Friends of Film Fund.


For wheelchair access to 4070 Vilas Hall, please provide 24 hour notice by writing info@cinema.wisc.edu or call 608-262-3627.


Summer 2018 programming would not have been possible without: David Bordwell; Jacqueline Castel; Kelley Conway; Dave Filipi; Harry Guerro; Erik Gunneson; Lea Jacobs; Peter Sengstock; Glenn Silber; Jeff Smith; Michael Trevis; A24; Academy Film Archive (Cassie Blake); Allied Integrated Marketing (Alexandra Gagliano); American Genre Film Archive (Bret Berg, Sebastian Del Castillo); Film Forum NYC (Bruce Goldstein); Goethe Institut Chicago (Irmi Maunu-Kocian); Harvard Film Archive (Karin Kolb); Janus Films (Brian Belovarac); Kino Lorber (Jonathan Hertzberg); Library of Congress (Lynanne Schweighofer); M+P Film GmbH (Martin Moszkowicz); The Madison Reunion (Ben Sidran, Judy Sidran); National Film & Sound Archive Australia (Caitlyn Leon); Park Circus (Chris Chouinard & Nick Varley); Rialto Pictures (Eric Di Bernardo, Bruce Goldstein); Sony Repertory (David Jennings, Michele Moore, Benjamin Scantlin); Swank Motion Pictures (Randy Andrews & Mary Hartman); UCLA Film and Television Archive (Jan-Christopher Horak, Todd Wiener, Steven Hill); Universal Pictures (Liam Berney,  Jason Jackowski); UW CREECA (Kelly Iacobazzi); Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research (Mary Huelsbeck, Amy Sloper). Thanks to all of you!


Calendar notes written by Jim Healy. Additional writing by Mike King (MK) and Ben Reiser (BR).